2014

New Year’s Day is nothing but a marker, and the date depends on which calendar you use. But I guess that’s why we need New Year’s Day anyway. Humans are forgetful. We need markers to remind us of the things that we have been through, good or bad, nice and not so nice.

2013 is a memorable year for us. After a few centuries of writing, finally I managed to submit my thesis. Let’s just hope that it won’t take another millennium before I could graduate. And, of course, there is this no small matter of expecting our first child.

I also enjoy taking online courses from Coursera. Last year I learnt a bit on the ancient Greeks, Greek & Roman mythology, the fall of Jerusalem, Calvin, and Kierkegaard. Next week a course on the letters of Paul (from edX, another online course provider) will start, followed by a course on Roman architecture. It’s been fun all around.

Going forward, 2 Tim 2.13 remains the first verse that comes up to my mind whenever I think about our surely-will-be-tougher lives ahead:

“If we are faithless, he remains faithful—
for he cannot deny himself.”

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

