See(k)ing death

Have you ever seen death?

I don’t mean seeing death on the newspapers, television, or in the movies. I mean witnessing someone breathing their last breath.

I have lost my mom and my grandfather, but I was not around when they died.

Thus, I don’t know how it feels to see someone (presumably that you know and love) slipping away from you, from life.

Or, for that matter, how it feels to know that your own death is coming. Of course, we all know that all of us will be dead some day, but I guess more often than not we are living as if we are going to live forever. We don’t really think that our own death is coming any time soon.

I don’t know how about you, but I want my own death to be as painless as possible. Go to sleep and wake up at the other side (if any).

That’s why I couldn’t imagine, really, how Jesus, Bonhoeffer, or MLK Jr. managed to spur themselves on their mission, with full knowledge that they would eventually face death if they kept doing what they were doing then.

But perhaps there lies the difference between one who is fully aware of his mission with another who is not. Death becomes not so much as a tragedy in itself, but an appropriate end to a truly well-lived life. I am not saying that we should glorify death in itself. Death is still a cruel aspect of our world. But that death has been subverted. That we shall not be afraid any more of it, that it does not rule over us any more. “Well done, my good and faithful servant. Come, share my joy.” (Mat 25.21)

PS: Just realized something ironic below – “This entry was posted in Life and tagged death.”

Leave a Reply

