Reporting Jesus

Those who stay in Jurong West area might have noticed that there is this homeless teenager who sits on the side of the walkway between Boon Lay MRT and Jurong West St 64, just opposite the Jurong Point. He is around 15-20 years old (rough guess), he wears Liverpool jersey, and I think he might have some mental problems, given that he looks really lost of his surroundings. I see him everyday on my walk back home, and on the Easter dawn, when I walked to #174 bus berth, I saw him sleeping on the bench inside Jurong Point. And the more I see him, the more I feel really bad about him. I want to help him but I don’t really know how. So, what I finally did was to report it to my town council, which in turn reported the case to Destitute Persons Service from the Ministry of Community Development, Youth, and Sports. I am still not sure whether I have done the right thing or not, but perhaps it can be illustrated by this story:

“A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, when he was attacked by robbers. They stripped him of his clothes, beat him and went away, leaving him half dead. A priest happened to be going down the same road, and when he saw the man, he passed by on the other side. So too, a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. When he returned home, he wrote to the Roman authorities to take care of the man. The following day, he didn’t see the man anymore.”

(I don’t know whether the ministry will give me updates about the teenager or not. I really hope they could take care of him well.)

Leave a Reply

