Grammar of faith

As much as I try to leave Evangelicalism behind, I guess I just can’t betray my Evangelical background. Evangelicalism is my mother tongue. I was born out of and learnt to speak Christian from an evangelical para-church organisation which has its own tectonic structure of Christian faith. I inherit its vocabularies in articulating the faith. And to deny my origin would be worse. I must embrace it before I could meaningfully learn from other traditions of what it means to be a Christian. In that sense post-evangelicalism would make better sense of who I am. As much as I enjoy and appreciate greatly post-liberalism, I could never become a post-liberal, as liberalism is not my home. My home is the evangelical world, and as I play with my post-liberal (and liberal) friends, eventually I would return to my home and hopefully enrich it from the things that I learn outside. But to leave this home, can and will never be an option. But when one must, then one must be ready to leave Egypt and go for a long and lonely wilderness, trapped in the middle of nowhere yearning for a land plentiful of milk and honey.

Leave a Reply

