One centigrade

Sometimes it is difficult to imagine how, in climate change discourse, an increase of one centigrade could change the make-up of our entire world, since, so I thought, if you converted it into Kelvin, the percentage of difference seems to be negligible. Until I realize that, indeed, it even matters in air-con temperature, as 24 °C is too cold, 25 °C is just nice, 26 °C defeats the purpose of using air-con, and 27 °C is room temperature already. I could be more sensitive in this range, though, as our sensitivity depends on where we live, such that I might not notice the one-degree difference if I were to live in another place with a different climate. But I guess the point remains. One degree Celsius does matter.

2 thoughts on “One centigrade

Leave a Reply

