Welcoming angels as guests unknowingly

15.04.10

I just finished having a meeting with the staffs. Vibo and Dewi stayed back to feed Lemuel. Mike went to Bugis and Ci Mel went across the road to take the bus. So I went home alone. The train arrived, I found a seat in the corner, and I started to continue reading Bauckham’s Jesus and the Eyewitnesses. The book has been so fascinating such that I couldn’t take it off.

I have only been reading a few pages before I felt a contact from a person sitting beside me. I thought it was unintentional so I kept reading. It happened again for a few more times before I realized that I was poked and he wanted to talk with me. So I turned to him and I listened a voice saying:

“Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!”

*

His name is Jayaraj. He just went back from a fellowship in Tamil Methodist Church and we shared our life stories before I went off at Boon Lay MRT.

Jayaraj stayed in Pioneer. He used to work in a supply company as an electrician. However, he has not been working for a few months now. In fact, earlier that day he went to the immigration office to extend his visit pass. His work pass has expired. Now he is on social visit pass until the end of the month. Worse, his company still owed him ten months of his salary. More than five thousand dollars, he said. I asked him, “Have you told your agent about it?” He answered, “Yes, I have.” I asked him again, “What did he say, then?” He answered, “He only said he don’t know.” And again: what will happen after the end of the month? “I don’t know.”

*

Jayaraj told me about his life. He has a bachelor degree in zoology and he came to Singapore from India to seek a better life. He left behind his wife and his little daughter. She was only one year old when he left for Singapore and he has not seen her for 1.5 years. Perhaps with a bit of regret he said to me, “I missed watching my daughter grow up.” I asked him, “How old are you?” He said to me, “This year I will be twenty-five.” I replied, “Eh, me too.”

*

Jayaraj has been a Christian for three years. He was a Hindu before. He told me about the fellowship that he went to just now. It’s a three-day meeting and today’s topic is love. “Jesus is love”, he said. He showed me his Bible. It was the famous Gideon’s Bible, which consists of the New Testament and Psalms. He looked really excited. Must be full of joy after the fellowship, I guess. “My heart changed”, he said. There were hundreds of people and they met for two hours listening to ‘the big brother.’ I asked him, “Will you go again tomorrow?” He answered, “Yes I will.” I asked him again, “So what’s the topic for tomorrow?” He answered, “I don’t know, I’ll just go.”

*

Before I left, we exchanged our phone number and he said that he will contact me again on Sunday. He will introduce his friends to me, since we’re living quite near. Although he was not working now, his company still allowed him to stay at the dorm. He said that his company and the Ministry of Manpower will talk in the next few days. Hopefully, before the end of the month. For a few months now, he has been getting support from the church and an NGO. He would come to the church every day and get some food over there. Sometimes the church would also provide him with some money to buy daily needs. As for the NGO, he showed me the name card. It read, “HealthServe.” Ah, that sounds familiar.

And I went back with a smile on my lips. The author of the Epistle to the Hebrews told us to welcome strangers into our home, because by doing this we might have welcomed angels as guests without even knowing it (Heb 13.2). Or, perhaps more fittingly, sometimes we have been visited by angels without even knowing it. As for us, until justice rolls down like water and righteousness like an ever-flowing stream, God forbid that we care not.

Leave a Reply

