being defensive

Yesterday I attended a PhD oral defense and now I hate the two examiners for the defense. They clearly ridiculed the student and didn’t have any kind of respect for him. I don’t know whether they deliberately did that for all PhD defense that they examined, for example, to baptize the student with fire before he finished his doctoral study, but I clearly didn’t like the way they did it. For hospitality sake, at least appreciate what he had done for the past four years or so.

Finally, perhaps I was pretty sensitive about this because I know someday (or, more accurately, some years later) I will be in the same position as the student was yesterday. Poor him, poor me.

6 thoughts on “being defensive

Leave a Reply

