skubala 2.0

Tokyo Tower: Mom and me, and sometimes Dad. During the first half of the movie I wondered why it could win five awards at the 2008 Japan Academy Prizes; during the latter half I wondered why I watched this depressing movie.

It’s good, nonetheless. It tells a story of a boy who lived with his mom after they left the negligent and violent dad. The boy grew into a man (or did he?) but he still lived off his mom. In his own words, “I lived in comfort with my depravity.” Mom kept sending him living allowance and he kept spending it for mahjong, sake, and sex. Well, until he heard the news that his mom had cancer. From there, a journey of redemption begins.

4 thoughts on “skubala 2.0

Leave a Reply

